Do you act black???

Image

“He don’t act black..”


“She act like a white girl..”


Words of ignorance too many times spewed from the mouths people who have fallen victim to a stereotypical presumption about the character of an individual. Has anyone ever told you that? “You act like a (insert not black race), or you don’t act black. The question that comes to my mind is, what are you really asking? That’s the question we should ask anybody that tries to imply that being born with a darker pigmentation of melanin denotes a certain pattern of behavior.


So what do people consider acting black anyways. Are you not acting black because you use proper sentence structures when you speak, or is it because every other word out of your mouth is not derogatory. Or let me take another swing at it, are you not acting black because you wear your pants at waist level, say ma’am and sir, and respect your elders. Could it be because you worked hard to attain a college education, or is it the fact that you are faithful to one spouse, serve God with all your heart and try to be a descent person. 


If those are the standards for acting black, or being a real “nigga” then I will pass on that label. Why is it that the criteria to which being a black person in America today is one that is associated with negativity. And to add insult to injury we are the ones who propel these stereotypes by playing into the hands of a mindset that places our humanity in the bondage of an ideological propaganda. Our music tells our young men like me to kill each other, rob each other, and hate each other. It tells our women that beauty is not intrinsic, but external, reduced to a fat butt and Indian hair. And worst of all, we march along to that tune, too drunk off our own self deception to perceive the poison we as a culture ingest. 


I was once ignorant, portraying a preconceived notion of what i figured I was supposed to be as a black man. Until a light was sparked, this light was my understanding that even in my ignorance God saw it fit to accept me, and not only that, he gave me the opportunity to become a better human. that’s all is about, being a better human. I was broken free from the mental shackles placed on me by this society, free to be a man, free to be human, free to be me. When God created each one of us he made us in his image, each one a unique being, given the tools to be an instrument for impact. To break beyond the limits of racial characterization and be unique in the aspect of not conforming to societal expectations.


Well my name is Frank, I use proper sentence structures when I talk, I try not to disrespect other people, I respect my elders, My pants don’t sag, I wish one day to be a husband of one woman and a father to my children, and I am BLACK.

Leave a Reply

